What OpenAI’s ChatGPT Pro Limit Increase Means For You
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: What OpenAI’s ChatGPT Pro Limit Increase Means For You on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI cancelled a planned reduction to ChatGPT Pro 200 and increased Work and Codex allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500 on October 29. The changes do not double every ChatGPT limit: Pro 100 and Pro 500 keep their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, Plus is unchanged, and the company did not state a specific increase for Business Premium in its release notes.

OpenAI cancelled a planned ChatGPT Pro 200 usage cut and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on its $100 Pro 100 and $500 Pro 500 plans on October 29, one day before the cut was due to take effect. The change gives subscribers more room for longer tasks and coding work, but it does not raise every ChatGPT limit or affect every plan in the same way.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The two products share an allowance, so the larger pool applies to use across both. OpenAI’s updated Pro help page says existing subscribers receive the change automatically, without waiting for their next billing date; users do not need to take action.

For Pro 200, priced at $200 a month, OpenAI reversed the reduction announced in a September email. The help page says the lower allowance doubled to match the higher allowance. Subscribers who already had that higher allowance keep it, so the change restores the higher level for those facing the planned cut rather than doubling usage for every Pro 200 customer.

Several limits and prices remain unchanged. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain the same. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one. Ultrafast, a faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI’s release note also says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not give a multiplier; a post by OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux described that increase as a doubling.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; effective i…
The developmentOpenAI cancelled a planned Pro 200 allowance cut and increased Work and Codex usage allowances across its Pro tiers.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

More Room for Work and Coding

The change matters most to subscribers who use ChatGPT Work for longer, multi-step tasks or Codex for coding. A larger shared allowance may let them run those tools more often before reaching a limit. It does not mean every model, chat feature or speed mode is now available twice as often.

OpenAI’s own explanation cautions against treating a doubled allowance as twice as much completed work: actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. For individuals deciding whether to upgrade, the practical question is whether they regularly hit their current Work or Codex allowance. Checking the account’s usage page before paying for a higher tier can help establish whether the added capacity is relevant to their workload.

For businesses, the update may affect how many paid seats they need and how usage is distributed. But Work and Codex allowances are not the same as API budgets, and the announcement does not provide enough detail to calculate a company-wide capacity increase from the seat price alone. Teams should review their own usage and plan limits rather than assume all work scales at the same rate.

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From September Cut to Reversal

The reversal followed a series of plan changes. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the move to demand for GPT-6 Astra, quoting him as saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That explanation was his characterization of demand, not a usage figure published in the October 29 release notes.

On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. A release note said included usage allowances were changing, while the monthly Pro 200 price remained $200. Sottiaux described the plan ladder on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier “for a bit.” The planned reduction was scheduled for October 30.

OpenAI’s October 29 release notes then said it had cancelled the Pro 200 reduction and raised Work and Codex allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500. The updated help page gives the more specific explanation of which limits changed. That distinction matters because Sottiaux’s post described “all usage limits” as doubling, while the help page says the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 did not change.

““We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.””

— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X

Business Increase Lacks a Figure

OpenAI’s release note confirms higher Business Premium usage but gives no numerical increase. Sottiaux said the Business Premium limits were doubling, but the difference between that post and the official note leaves the exact allowance unclear from the release information alone. The source material also does not specify how the increased Business Premium allowance is allocated across seats or how it compares with each company’s prior usage.

OpenAI has not described a change for Business Standard, Go or Free in the October 29 notes. Their absence from this announcement does not establish whether other changes may come later. More broadly, the company says usage varies according to the model, task and speed mode, so the allowance multiplier does not provide a fixed estimate of how many tasks or coding sessions a user can complete.

Check Your Plan’s Usage

Subscribers can check their ChatGPT account’s usage page to see how the new allowance applies to their plan. OpenAI says the update is automatic for existing subscribers, so there is no need to wait for renewal or change plans to receive it. Users who were affected by the planned Pro 200 cut should compare their current allowance with the updated plan details.

Businesses considering seat changes should confirm the allowances shown for their particular subscription and keep ChatGPT seat usage separate from API budgets when planning costs. OpenAI may provide more detail about Business Premium or other tiers in future updates; as of the October 29 announcement, no further milestone or timetable was specified.

Key Questions

Which ChatGPT plans received more Work and Codex usage?

OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Pro 200’s planned reduction was cancelled, and its lower allowance doubled to match the higher level.

Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?

No. OpenAI says the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged. The Work and Codex allowance is a separate shared limit, and Pro 500 remains the only Pro tier with Ultrafast.

Does Pro 200 usage double for every subscriber?

No. OpenAI’s help page says subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The lower allowance doubled to match that higher level, reversing the cut planned for October 30.

Did OpenAI specify how much Business Premium usage increased?

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no numerical amount. Thibault Sottiaux described it as doubling in a post, while the official release note does not provide that figure.

Do existing subscribers need to do anything?

No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal. Users can check their account’s usage page to review the limits for their plan.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
You May Also Like

Can Anthropic Secure A $6B Deal For Israeli Artificial Intelligence Firm?

Anthropic is reportedly negotiating to acquire an unnamed Israeli-founded AI company valued at $6 billion, but no deal has been confirmed yet.

Mistral. The fourth path.

Mistral secures $830M in March 2026, becoming Europe’s leading venture-funded AI firm with rapid growth and significant enterprise clients, despite still trailing US models in reasoning.

14 AI Coding Assistants For Students And Software Developers In 2027

A source-based comparison of 14 AI coding books, from beginner introductions to tool-specific and team workflow guides.

The cleaner cap table. Why Anthropic’s public-benefit structure dodges OpenAI’s charitable-trust problem — and trades it for a governance question of its own.

Analysis of how Anthropic’s mission-driven, trust-based structure contrasts with OpenAI’s conversion history, shaping their paths to public markets.