🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI’s Tighter Rules And Grok’s Costs: A Guide For AI Users on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
Elon Musk said the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but gave no figures or details of a policy change. OpenAI, meanwhile, has added limits on paid subscriptions tied to devices and payment cards and plans to combine ChatGPT and Codex usage allowances in December. The developments point to tighter controls on heavy AI use, even as flat monthly plans remain available.
Elon Musk said on November 1 that serving xAI’s Grok Bot had become “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI introduced new limits on paid ChatGPT subscriptions associated with devices and payment cards and said ChatGPT and Codex will share an allowance starting in December. The changes highlight how AI providers are managing costly, intensive use, but neither company has disclosed enough detail to establish the precise costs or the full effect on individual users.
Musk’s statement came in reply to an X user who asked for a Grok Bot reset after users said their usage ran out quickly that week. Musk wrote that the cost of serving the agent was “unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He did not provide cost, revenue or margin figures, say what had changed, or announce a specific new limit, reset or price.
The statement concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s task-oriented agent, rather than Grok chat generally. According to xAI’s pricing information cited by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, the agent is included with Premium, Super and Ultra subscriptions, priced at $30, $100 and $200 a month respectively. Its usage draws on a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and specified model use in Cursor. xAI says consumption depends on agent steps, tokens and the task being performed, rather than simply the number of messages.
OpenAI’s help center says paid ChatGPT accounts are subject to limits on how many subscriptions can be used on one device and how many can be purchased with one payment card or device. The published information does not specify a numerical cap. The rules cover Go, Plus and Pro plans. OpenAI also says Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex beginning in December; its help information says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that shared meter.
OpenAI also expanded some higher-tier allowances during the same week. Its release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction to Pro 200 was cancelled. A social-media post by OpenAI employee Thibault Sottiaux described broader increases across Pro tiers and Business Premium, but the release notes cited in the source give the more specific account of the changes.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Why AI Usage Is Being Metered
These changes matter because a monthly subscription price does not mean every task costs the provider the same amount to serve. A short chat reply and an agent that spends a long time researching, browsing or coding can use very different amounts of computing. xAI describes Grok Bot usage in terms of agent steps and tokens, while OpenAI’s planned shared allowance counts tokens across two products.
For users, the practical effect may be that intensive tasks use up an allowance faster, even when the monthly fee is unchanged. A shared ChatGPT-Codex pool could also mean that usage in one product affects what remains for the other. The specific impact will depend on OpenAI’s final implementation and how much each customer uses both services.
For businesses, the developments underline the need to distinguish a subscription seat price from the amount and type of usage included. Teams comparing plans may want vendors to state allowance sizes, reset periods, overage rules and which products draw on the same pool. The announcements do not establish that flat-rate AI subscriptions are ending; they show providers defining or adjusting limits beneath those prices.
Popular right now

Ninja CREAMi Scoop & Swirl 13-in-1 Ice Cream and Soft Serve Maker (NC701)

Vitamix Propel Series 510 Professional-Grade Blender, 3 Programs, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Recent Changes to AI Plans
OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024, advertising unlimited access to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That post is historical context, not a current financial disclosure.
In the developments reported for late October and early November 2026, OpenAI both increased some Pro allowances and clarified controls on subscriptions and shared usage. These measures are not all reductions: the Pro 100 and Pro 500 Work and Codex allowance increases sit alongside the new device and payment-card rules and the December change to a combined allowance.
xAI launched its X Subscription on October 12, 2026, according to the source report. Grok Bot is offered on certain paid tiers, and its usage shares a pool with other specified services. That arrangement helps explain why the agent’s costs could relate to limits across a broader subscription, but Musk’s post did not say whether xAI had changed the pool or its terms.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”
— Elon Musk, replying to an X user on November 1, 2026
Limits and Costs Still Undisclosed
Musk did not say whether xAI changed Grok Bot’s weekly pool, how much users can now consume, or whether the company will alter prices or offer resets. His use of the past tense—“was”—does not by itself confirm that a cost change or usage adjustment has already taken effect. No figures were provided for Grok Bot’s costs or revenue, so claims about its losses or margins cannot be verified from the statement.
The source report says other outlets described a post from Grok’s official account attributing adjusted allocations to costs and mentioning a dashboard fault that temporarily overstated usage. The report says it could not locate that post itself, so those details remain reported, not independently confirmed here.
OpenAI has not published a numerical device or payment-card cap in the cited help information. The exact size and reset timing of the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance, and how customers will see or manage it, are also not specified in the source material. The source does not provide a complete account of OpenAI’s third announced change, so no further details should be inferred.
Watch for December Allowance Details
OpenAI says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business will begin in December 2026. Customers will need to check its help center and usage displays for the final allowance terms, how ChatGPT and Codex draw from the pool, and whether the company publishes more precise device or card limits.
For xAI, the next useful confirmation would be a direct explanation of any changes to Grok Bot’s weekly pool, the timing of those changes and how the agent’s use affects other services on the same subscription. Until xAI provides those details, Musk’s post confirms a cost concern, not a specific policy change. Users considering a paid plan or upgrade should check the current usage terms rather than assume that a flat monthly price means unlimited access to every feature.
Key Questions
Did Elon Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?
No specific new limit was announced in the quoted post. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but did not state whether the weekly allowance had changed or by how much.
Which ChatGPT plans are covered by the new device and card rules?
The OpenAI help information cited in the report covers Go, Plus and Pro. It says limits apply to subscriptions used on a device and subscriptions purchased with a payment card or device, but does not give a numerical cap.
When will ChatGPT and Codex use a shared allowance?
OpenAI says the shared token-based allowance for Plus, Pro and Business customers will start in December 2026. The cited information does not specify the allowance size.
Does a flat monthly AI subscription guarantee unlimited use?
No. A monthly price can sit alongside usage pools, product-specific rules or limits on intensive tasks. The developments described here show that providers are defining how use is counted; they do not establish that all flat-price subscriptions are ending.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
